"at the heart of the community"

  • Sign In

    Betfred Cup  

    Thursday, May 24, 2018 4:22:18 PM


    The SPFL is pleased to announce the seeding pots and numbers for tomorrows 2018 Betfred Cup Group Stage draw.  The draw will be conducted live on BT Sport 2 at 6.30pm on Friday (25 May), as well as being streamed live and free-to-view on BT Sport’s Facebook page and Twitter feed @btsportfootball, with the live stream shared by the SPFL’s own social media channels.

     The draw comprises 40 clubs: the 38 SPFL clubs not participating in European competitions plus Spartans (Lowland League champions) and Cove Rangers (Highland League champions).

     The format of the 2018 Betfred Cup Group Stage draw is as follows:

     The draw will produce eight groups of five teams on a regionalised basis - four ‘North’ and four ‘South’ groups All eight groups will be made up of one 1st seed, one 2nd seed and three unseeded clubs.

    Prior to the draw the 40 participating teams are placed into one of three pots based on League positions at the end of season 2017/18 – 8 x 1st seeds, 8 x 2nd seeds and 24 x unseeded teams. Each of the pots is then individually split into two equal halves: North and South o 8 x 1st seeds = 4 x North and 4 x South; o 8 x 2nd seeds = 4 x North and 4 x South; o 24 x Unseeded = 12 x North and 12 x South.

    BT Sport continues as broadcast partner of the Betfred Cup for a third season.

     The Group Stage draw sees the 40 participating clubs scheduled to play four games across five match dates – 14 July, 18 July, 21 July, 25 July and 28 July (subject to broadcast selections).

     The format, announced in advance of the 2016 Betfred Cup, sees all drawn Group Stage matches go straight to a penalty shoot-out with the winners earning an extra ‘bonus point’ in addition to the traditional point given for a draw. The eight group winners and four best runners-up progress to the last 16 where they are joined by holders Celtic and fellow European representatives Aberdeen, Rangers and Hibernian.

    Ball      Club                                        N or S              Seeding

    1              Heart of Midlothian                  N                 First Seeds

    2              St. Johnstone                             N                 First Seeds

    3              Dundee                                      N                 First Seeds

    4              Ross County                              N                 First Seeds

    5              Kilmarnock                                S                 First Seeds

    6              Motherwell                                S                  First Seeds

    7              Hamilton Academical               S                  First Seeds

    8              Partick Thistle                           S                  First Seeds


     9             Dundee United                         N                   Second Seeds

    10           Dunfermline Athletic                N                   Second Seeds

    11           Inverness Caledonian Thistle    N                   Second Seeds

    12           Falkirk                                       N                   Second Seeds

    13           St Mirren                                   S                    Second Seeds

    14           Livingston                                 S                    Second Seeds

    15           Queen of the South                   S                    Second Seeds

    16           Morton                                      S                    Second Seeds


    17           Brechin City                                       North

    18           Raith Rovers                                       North

    19        Alloa Athletic                                       North

    20           Arbroath                                              North

    21           East Fife                                              North

    22           Forfar Athletic                                    North

    23           Montrose                                             North

    24           Peterhead                                             North

    25           Stirling Albion                                    North

    26           Elgin City                                            North

    27           Cowdenbeath                                       North

    28           Cove Rangers                                      North


    29           Dumbarton                                         South

    30           Ayr United                                         South

    31           Stranraer                                             South

    32           Airdrieonians                                     South

    33           Queen's Park                                      South

    34           Albion Rovers                                    South

     35          Stenhousemuir                                    South

     36          Clyde                                                  South

    37           Annan Athletic                                   South

    38           Berwick Rangers                                South

    39           Edinburgh City                                   South

    40           Spartans                                              South


    The Group Stage fixture list and TV selections will be published in due course.

    For all the latest Betfred Cup information including fixture dates visit: https://spfl.co.uk/league-cup/ 

    You can follow the draw live at 6.30pm on Friday via the SPFL’s social media channels:  Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/spflofficial/ Twitter - https://twitter.com/spfl

    Managers Corner