"at the heart of the community"

  • Sign In

    Irn Bru Cup Update 

    Wednesday, June 22, 2016 7:20:35 PM

    The First Round draw for the 2016/17 IRN-BRU Cup will take place at Hampden Park tomorrow, Thursday 23rd June at 11.30am. Clubs from last season’s Ladbrokes League 2 (minus East Fife and Elgin City) will be joined by representatives from the Lowland and Highland Leagues as well as Under 20 teams from the Ladbrokes Premiership. The First Round Draw will be regionalised and will be structured to ensure that, so far as possible, Under 20 Teams do not face each other, Highland League clubs do not face each other and Lowland League clubs do not face each other. Each regional section will be split into two pools. Teams in Pool A will be drawn to play teams in Pool B. Teams in Pool C will be drawn to play teams in Pool D.

    North Section - Pool A Aberdeen U20s Dundee U20s Heart of Midlothian U20s Inverness CT U20s Ross County U20s St Johnstone U20s East Stirlingshire
    North Section - Pool B Cove Rangers Formartine United Brora Rangers Turriff United Stirling Albion Montrose Arbroath
    South Section - Pool C Celtic U20s Hamilton Academical U20s Kilmarnock U20s Motherwell U20s Partick Thistle U20s Rangers U20s Berwick Rangers South Section - Pool D Edinburgh City Spartans University of Stirling Cumbernauld Colts Clyde Queen’s Park Annan Athletic.
    First round ties are scheduled for Tuesday the 2nd and Wednesday the 3rd of August. The 14 winners from the First Round will be joined by East Fife, Elgin City and the clubs from last season's Ladbrokes League 1 (minus Dunfermline Athletic and Ayr United) for the Second Round stage. The Ladbrokes Championship clubs join the competition in the Third Round along with Dunfermline and Ayr. The representatives from the Northern Ireland Football League (Crusaders and Linfield) and the Welsh Premier League (Bala Town and The New Saints) enter the competition in the Fourth Round.

    Managers Corner