"at the heart of the community"

  • Sign In

    Player of Year Awards 

    Sunday, April 27, 2014 4:30:30 PM
    The Alloa Athletic 1878 Supporters Club "Player of the Year" awards took place last night, Saturday 26th April, 2014 at the Claremont Hotel, Alloa. The event was well supported with fans, management, directors and players of Alloa Athletic FC. along with the awards the fans were treated to the talents of singer, Kevin Murphy, raffle on the evening, buffet & disco. Manager Barry Smith thanked the fans for their support and asked them to get behind the team at Falkirk next Saturday, in the final game of the season leaving them with a very positive speech.

    "What I’ve noticed since coming to Alloa is the tremendous support the players get and that comes from you guys here – the Alloa 1878 Supporters Club and we hope you stick with us. At the start of the season if we had said we would have – one game to stay in the league you would have took it, and in knowing that these boys have worked so hard throughout the season, they have been absolutely outstanding since I have come in, and I have every confidence in them and every belief, we will win next week and we will stay in this division, and that’s the most important thing for the club, to make sure we stay in the division for next year, and then we can move on to talk and think about next season. These guys have been excellent and they will get us over the finishing line next week, I would like to thank you again for your support and stay with us next week and hopefully we will all be celebrating".

    The Alloa Advertiser Awards were presented by by Graeme Lafferty, their Sports Reporter, Their Goal of the Season Award - was won by Ben Gordon for his goal v. Livingston on 19th October, 2013, when he scored a wonderful volley in closing minutes of game.
    Their next award for The Young Player of the Year - was won by Scott Bain, who since joined the club from Aberdeen in June, 2011 has went from strength to strength and has now made 116 first team appearances for the club.
    The Alloa Advertiser "Player of the Year Award" went to Daryll Meggatt, who has been outstanding in any position asked to play this season.
    The next award on the evening was from "The Duffle Website", which is compiled by Alloa supporters voting for their man of the match after every competitive fixture and over the season, The Duffle Website Player of the Year - was won by Daryll Meggatt, the trophy was presented by Brian Roach.
    We then went on to the Alloafc 1878 Supporters Club Player of the Year Awards, The Reserve Player of the Year - was won by Lewis Wilson, who made his first team debut in the William Hill Scottish Cup Tie against Inverurie Locos which we won 3-0 on 2nd November, 2013, and Lewis along with his team mates, Michael Hardie & scott Hynd have appeared in all Scottish School boy Centenary Shield matches this season.
    The Alloafc 1878 Supporters Club "Goal of the Season Award" - was won by Eddie Ferns for his stunning individual goal against Falkirk in our 3-0 victory over our local rivals ar Recreation Park on 22nd March, 2014. Supporters Club Chairman Gordon Snadden presented the award.
    The Alloafc 1878 Supporters Club Top goalscorer Award was not presented on the evening because at present their is a tie with one league fixture still outstanding, both Kevin Cawley & ryan McCord are tied on eight goals each, lets hope this can be increased on Saturday against Falkirk.
    The final award and main award of the evening was the Alloafc 1878 Supporters Player of the year Award - which was won by Scott Bain, who has been magnificent for the club this season and with thirteen shut outs in the league has been one of the main reasons Alloa Athletic have given themselves a great chance of staying in the Championship this season.


    Managers Corner